Here's how the thought process went: "Chilli, I cook a mean chilli and it should absorb most of the things you'd find in a can, right?" By the time we get back from Tesco with everything needed to make a decent chilli, it's late, and I'm very hungry. With the chilli and rice cooking nicely I select a can and open it. Beans, this could be fine, there are beans in chilli anyway so we're on a winner here right? Only they're in a sauce, and I don't think I can legally throw the sauce down the drain and just add them to the chilli, after discussing this with my house mate we agree this is probably not in the spirit of the game so they go into to another pan with the sauce. The beige sause promptly boils and goes grey. Perfect.
He're the problem, I now have rice, chilli and an extra can of beans and sauce in front of me. It dawns on me I'm about to eat about a can and a half of beans with sauce. Try it, it's a lot of beans. The grey sauce tastes mostly of tin, and doesn't do good things with the rice. I mix the chilli and mystery bean sauce together, it goes the colour chilli might be if Gordon Brown started taxing the use of colour in food. Perfect.
Thankfully it just makes it taste like a very cheap chilli where tomatoes, chilli, beef and peppers have been added in minescule quantities so the provider donesn't get prosecuted under the sale of goods act.
I eat the bean/chilli combo, but by this point I'm far too full to manage the rice. I sit in front of the TV for nearly an hour, then go to bed. Only 5 cans to go...
James
No comments:
Post a Comment